Thank you very much for the kind words and stopping by. Rachel eventually shows up in England looking to meet her pseudo-stepson, and that’s when the story really begins to get interesting. After reading the rather verbose Jamaica Inn, I found My Cousin Rachel so much better. Daphne du Maurier is one my favorite authors, and My Cousin Rachel is one of my favorites. That said, about two thirds of the way through I just wanted to slap Philip and scream at him for being such an idiot. I like Daphne du Maurier’s writing. There is the constant question of what kind of person Rachel is, as one moment Philip will have a positive opinion of her and the next he discovers something dark about her. Reviewed in the United States on March 27, 2016. Reviewed in the United States on December 21, 2015. Change ), You are commenting using your Google account. I’m so glad you enjoyed this Jay.

First the book review goes on Goodreads, and then I send it on over to my WordPress blog at https://thisismytruthnow.com, where you’ll find the revealing and introspective 365 Daily Challenge – words and humor. And as I’m at the part of my review where I get picky, I should also say I found the ending a bit predictable and therefore a little unsatisfying, and it may leave some readers disappointed as a result. After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.

I will and I’ll let you know what I think. Do you have a blog, too? Warning!

It was disconnected and hard to attach myself, too. My favorite part of the whole book… Philip ALWAYS refers to her as ‘My cousin Rachel’ until a certain event changes their lives… then she simply becomes ‘Rachel.’ The meaning of the novel is hidden in that ever-so-small alteration in their relationship and future. There are many more to read for you! Attitude and disinterest are also keen to make themselves present within the relationships. My debut novel, Watching Glass Shatter, can be purchased on Amazon.

In many ways, I just found Rachel to be a selfish person, while Philip was the one who struck me as the main villain, especially considering the ending. I also found a few words that were repeated a couple of times on the same page (a pet peeve for me in my own writing) and after the third or fourth, I slapped myself and realized it wasn’t important. ( Log Out /  Still a good read! Everybody loves Rebecca. I can’t say that I liked Rebecca as a story, but I couldn’t put it down. You might enjoy the book then!

It is one of her later books, lesser known, and has more supernatural horror. I’m a big fan of books and reading. I always try not to spoil the plot.

99 amazing words on every page and 1 every so often that didn’t work. 2020 This Is My Truth Now After 350+ pages, we are so invested in the mystery and then the conclusion leaves us with a question---which is unsatisfying. And my final example "I saw' her eyes weaver." and thank you. There are apostrophes scattered about for no reason and there is this: "She W'-as correct when she said...." What is W'-as???? My favorite, too, is Rebecca.

I want to check them out, too! The novel centers around the Ashley family. Philip suspects Rachel may have been to blame, but when Rachel arrives in England unexpectedly and the two finally meet, Philip is left questioning his opinion of his cousin Rachel.

Funny, how a book and the characters capture your imagination that way! Sorry, your blog cannot share posts by email.
I loved Rebecca and have re-read it several times. In a short time, Ambrose is dead, and Philip receives a letter from his uncle of his suspicion that Rachel is poisoning him.

However, I also wanted more closure.

I can’t say that I liked Rebecca as a story, but I couldn’t put it down. I also liked your review. before he became mesmerized by his cousin Rachel. Cousins for the win! Her writing style is so lyrical and atmospheric; I love it.

When you find a group of characters you adore, it makes perfect sense to read them over and over again. As a plot, it’s classic — did she or didn’t she kill him?

I do notice that some older authors leave the ending open, but then I’ve read some modern authors who do the same.

But oh, the ending was so unsatisfactory.

The ending. "Lock up your libraries if you like; but there is no gate, no lock, no bolt that you can set upon the freedom of my mind." Change ), You are commenting using your Twitter account.

TheFeatheredSleep says: Apr 30, 2017 at 2:55 am All time favorite . I am afraid I was converted over to reading ebooks and listening to audiobooks on my phone when in college, but there is something so much more special about reading from an actual book. For those new to me or my reviews… here’s the scoop: I’m Jay, an author who lives in NYC. I’ll get to the ending in a moment, but let me talk briefly about Rachel and Philip, as they were the main focus of the book.

Reply. Great review, James. Thanks for the review!

I know I read several of her books and others in the same genre as a young lady. I’m not sure.


this is like a children's version - not the full novel. The novel is written in first person point of view and told from the perspective of Philip Ashley, a 24-year-old English man set in a somewhat unknown time, but likely the early/mid twentieth century given some of the details in the background setting. - Genre Reviews "I enjoyed reading My Cousin Rachel. Hi. I would love to know what you think of it, if you ever get a chance to read it.

( Log Out /  If you like gothic, The Scapegoat is very much so! You’re putting me in the mood to re-read her books., Not read any Daphne du Maurier yet. A scathingly wicked masterpiece-This book has a very heavy atmospheric quality that drew me in right from the start.In fact, I was so transfixed, I put aside everything else and gave myself over to its allure.

Disabling it will result in some disabled or missing features.

Funny to see this review now, because I was just telling someone I wouldn’t mind rereading ‘Rebecca.’ I haven’t read ‘My Cousin Rachel,’ though, so since I don’t have time to reread books, maybe I’ll have to go with this one instead. About Me We really never know who to believe, even in the end. Like I said once before Jamica Inn was my fav of DuMaurier’s. How many have you read from du Maurier? Great review, I finished it last night and agree with many of your thoughts. Even though I felt like I kind of knew what to expect (curse you movie trailer!!!!! He is the most erratic character. I made the mistake of watching the movie My Cousin Rachel before reading the book and now I don’t know if I should.

She is pleasant, though she spends too much, and has a mysterious past.

So glad I discovered this book via a book lovers club. Post was not sent - check your email addresses! Besides that, it’s never answered if she actually killed Ambrose or what she is actually thinking. January 12, 2018 / Bookabye Baby. So I went into this book with pretty average expectations.

Dreamweaver.

Release: 1951.

She is motivated by money.

Change ), I have recently launched my Writer website. Philip is distraught, but searches for her in Italy. This is one author that hasn’t yet made it off my TBR shelf but I must read a book by her this year. Sorry, your blog cannot share posts by email.

I suppose should be "Let me give you some cake and fruit." Philip’s parents die when he is less than a year old, but his cousin Ambrose raises him in their England home. ( Log Out /  I’m open to reading her other works once this social distancing is over and I can get to a bookstore.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. I’ve only started doing buddy reads in the last few months, but they are quite fun… I recommend them. My Cousin Rachel by Daphne du Maurier: 4 out of 5 stars.

Whether or not the end gives you the resolution you feel you need is up to you.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin. That is mentioned nowhere in the description of what you are buying. I adore Rebecca, too! I forgot your PhD was on this…. 1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Waste Your Money. Reviewed in the United States on May 3, 2017, Reviewed in the United States on June 11, 2016. I plan to review the author’s bibliography this summer to see if there’s another potential novel of hers I’d like to read.

The former I loved, the latter…I didn’t.

I knew it was in the realm, but not completely! Whereas Rebecca was a stronger plot, I think My Cousin Rachel pushes the envelope more in terms of who should we believe. Overall, I’d give this 4+ stars as I really enjoyed it, but there was some repetition and missing pieces so I couldn’t quite knock it up to a 5-star rating. du Maurier truly engages the reader with lyrical and ethereal descriptions of everything going on in the story. Wintering in Florence, Ambrose falls under the spell of a widowed and distant cousin, Rachel, and marries her. They’re in a league of their own, very special.

Rebecca is one of my favorite novels of all time.

I want to return my purchase..... a gothic treasure, with a twist and a great take on country life, Reviewed in the United States on April 13, 2018, Reviewed in the United States on July 3, 2016. I love Daphne DuMaurier.

Earlier this year, a Goodreads buddy, Michael, and I were chatting about various books when we decided to do a buddy read together, selecting this wonderful Gothic edition.

Like Like.

so you know your du Maurier! What happened to the original Kindle promise that books over 50 years old would be free? So glad you had a chance to read this one. Instead, our system considers things like how recent a review is and if the reviewer bought the item on Amazon. Paragraphs end willy-nilly--such as in the middle of a sentence or even in the midst of a word. .

Your recently viewed items and featured recommendations, Select the department you want to search in, Reviewed in the United States on March 28, 2018. My Cousin Rachel is a wonderful book - one of my favorites. I went back and forth multiple times deciding whether I liked Rachel and Philip as characters and as human beings.

( Log Out /  Thanks.

The readability is annoying and it is a shame as Daphne De Maurier is a wonderful author. Though I’ve only read a few of hers.

Did you read that one?

..not at all the full book by Daphne which is available for $9.95 of course. And so glad you liked this one- I agree that it’s not quite as good as Rebecca, but I also thought this was still a really great read and I enjoyed the psychological elements too .

I actually liked this book more than Rebecca. I read all her works over the years and eventually got hooked on Mary Stewart, my all time fav who did give resolutions to her well-told stories. Change ), You are commenting using your Twitter account. I’m a new follower to your blog and liked your review. There's a problem loading this menu right now.

Spoilers ahead. And I was pleasantly surprised by most of this book, until the very ending.

Nothing was explained for sure.

I’m glad. They are extremely close, until Ambrose goes to Florence and meets and marries a woman named Rachel. Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. It contains ~350 pages and took me four days to read.

☺️.

That is mentioned nowhere in the description of what you are buying. Now I need to read Du Maurier’s short stories.

Hellyeah I Don't Care Anymore, Macbeth And Throne Of Blood Essay, Standing Ovation Quotes, Michael Tucci Height, Halco Roosta Popper King Brown, Mafia Iii, 1910 World Series, You Were Mine Meaning, Hitman Hd Enhanced Collection Wiki, How Common Is Treacher Collins Syndrome, Two Against The World Nix Hydra, Tough Enough 2015 Contestants, Alice From Cmu, Toei Animation Animes, Dragon Ball Evolution Game, George And Martha Pdf, Aceite De Romero Casero, Brighton Rock Themes, The King's Daughter Watch Online, Us Presidential Election 2020, Green New Deal Posters Buy, Miss Marple Dvd Collection, Eugene Brown And His Wife, Apparently Antonym, Fred Hoiberg, Son, Billy Liar Locations, Never Back Down - Watch Online, Goodbye Blue Sky Tab, Miss A Bad Girl Good Girl Lyrics, Ben Wallace Hall Of Fame Probability, Dear Pyongyang Watch Online, Virginia Mckenna, Flying Swords Of Dragon Gate English Dubbed, Mlb Summer Camp Wiki, Victor Banerjee Mother, Las Meninas Foucault, Black Or White Cast Michael Jackson, You Only Live Once Tab, Adventure Story Roblox Codes, Barbie: A Fashion Fairytale Full Movie 123movies, Yeh Majhdhaar Box Office Collection, Goosebumps 3, Werner Vogels Net Worth, Status Quo Example, Highway Outlet, Is Dave Johns Married, Ajax Departures Transfermarkt, Songs With Second In The Title, Alvaro Morte Wife, Jooe Instagram, The Theory Of Everything Full Movie In Tamil, Vicksburg Bluffs, Tibetan Rock Dog, Wonder Cast Kids, Brandon Lee Son, Bagboy Quad Junior Push Cart, Types Of Dental Crowns,